Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have been a bit derelict at writing my posts lately.  But last month I was busy watching the Tour de France and now it’s the Olympics.  You can see how exhausted all of this activity has left me.

Ms. Mar whispered that today is National Lighthouse Day and my ears perked up.  I immediately thought: Lighthouse = Water = Boats = Fishermen = (Chicken of the Sea… huh?) Fish!

Grand Marais Harbor Lighthouse

Grand Marais Harbor Lighthouse

And you all know how much I love fish and chicken (but that’s for another post).

Grand Marais Harbor Lighthouse at Sunset

Grand Marais Harbor Lighthouse at Sunset

Ms. Mar initially thought I was actually interested in the lighthouses so she gave me a little quiz:

Yaquina Head Lighthouse, Oregon

Yaquina Head Lighthouse, Oregon

1.  Why are lighthouses painted differently?

Haceda Head Lighthouse, Oregon

Haceda Head Lighthouse, Oregon

2.  How do boats use the lighthouses to navigate in the dark?

3.  How many lighthouses are there in the United States?

Split Rock Lighthouse, Lake Superior, MN

Split Rock Lighthouse, Lake Superior, MN

As you can tell, Ms. Mar is way over the top on this subject.  Who cares about a house that shines a bright light at night?  I’m more interested in how to get the fish in the boat into my dinner bowl!

Yaquina Head Lighthouse, Oregon

Yaquina Head Lighthouse, Oregon

But, since she took the time to get the answers to these questions, I’d be interested to know how smart her readers are, or how many are like me and don’t care. (They’re actually pretty easy . . . I looked it up on the internet).  Or even easier, you can go to her daily blog and get the answers there (click here).

Cape Blanco Lighthouse, Oregon

Cape Blanco Lighthouse, Oregon

I like Ms. Mar, so play along and answer her questions.  It will make her feel good enough to maybe upgrading my menu.

Cape Blanco Lighthouse, Oregon

Cape Blanco Lighthouse, Oregon

Tux  

